The Jetsetters

The Jetsetters

A Novel

eBook - 2020
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
"When seventy-year-old Charlotte Perkins submits a sexy essay to the "Become a Jetsetter" contest, she dreams of reuniting her estranged children: Lee, an almost-famous actress; Cord, a handsome Manhattan venture capitalist who can't seem to find a bride; and Regan, a harried mother who took it all wrong when Charlotte bought her a Weight Watchers gift certificate for her birthday. Charlotte yearns for the years when her children were young and she was a single mother who meant everything to them. When she wins the cruise, the family packs all their baggage--literal and figurative--and spends ten days traveling from sun-drenched Athens through glorious Rome to tapas-laden Barcelona on an over-the-top cruise ship, the Splendido Marveloso. As lovers new and old join the adventure, long-buried secrets are revealed, and the Perkins family is forced to confront the defining choices in their lives. Can four lost adults find the peace they've been seeking by reconciling their childhood aches and coming back to each other? In the vein of The Nest and The Vacationers, Ward has created a delicious and intelligent novel about the courage it takes to reveal our true selves, the pleasures and perils of family, and how we navigate the seas of adulthood to cruise--we can only hope--toward joy"--
Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books, [2020]
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2019
ISBN: 9780399181900
0399181903
9780399181894
Branch Call Number: eBook OverDrive
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
v
veggiegurl
May 30, 2020

This book might appeal to you if you liked The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney. It is a heavier story than the playful cover would suggest. It's worth reading as long as you aren't expecting a light beach read, which it's not.

d
dmbrew
Apr 02, 2020

The Jetsetters by Amanda Eyre Ward

Its about a relatively estranged family who wins a cruise and are forced to spend time together. Don't let the cover fool you, its not a beach read, but supposed to be a heavy drama with bouts of sadness. The writing is lacking and leaves something to be desired though.

d
dschirmer
Mar 27, 2020

This was a book about a really dysfunctional family that had the opportunity to tackle some very large problems, however, nothing ever when below surface level. Eventually it came to light why each individual had their own problems but no one really addressed on another about them. The characters did not grow as a family and hardly grew individually.

Felt like a waste of my time.

debwalker Mar 02, 2020

Reese Witherspoon's book club pick for March 2020.

Chapel_Hill_TracyB Feb 12, 2020

Looking for a family more dysfunctional than yours now that the holidays are over? Just finished THE JETSETTERS, and I think readers who enjoy watching broken families try to mend, with lots of humor in the process, will inhale in one sitting.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top