The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James

The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James

eBook - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
2
Twelve-year-old Sunny St. James navigates heart surgery, reconnecting with her lost mother, first kisses, and emerging feelings for another girl in this stunning, heartfelt novel--perfect for fans of Ali Benjamin and Erin Entrada Kelly.When Sunny St. James receives a new heart, she decides to set off on a "New Life Plan": 1) do awesome amazing things she could never do before; 2) find a new best friend; and 3) kiss a boy for the first time.Her "New Life Plan" seems to be racing forward, but when she meets her new best friend Quinn, Sunny questions whether she really wants to kiss a boy at all. With the reemergence of her mother, Sunny begins a journey to becoming the new Sunny St. James.This sweet, tender novel dares readers to find the might in their own hearts.
Publisher: New York, NY : Little, Brown and Company, 2019.
ISBN: 9780316515504
0316515507
9780316515535
Branch Call Number: eBook OverDrive
Characteristics: 1 online resource.
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From Library Staff

When Sunny St. James receives a new heart, she decides to set off on a "New Life Plan". **Recommended for ages 8-12**


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
t
tasuits
Mar 10, 2020

A wonderful book about a young girl discovering her new BFF is her first love. This is a great LGBTQ+ book for questioning teens and their allies.

s
samcmar
Feb 19, 2019

On my way to Montreal in February I decided I needed to read a new Ashley Herring Blake book. Both Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the Word and Girl Made of Stars got five stars from me because they left me an emotional train-wreck. Her books are challenging but they also give me hope, and The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James is no exception.

The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James follows Sunny, a girl who got a recent heart transplant. Having a new heart, Sunny believes that she feels different about herself, that she wants life to be something different. When her biological mother comes back into her life a new girl begins to challenge her perceptions of the world, Sunny's world is turned upside down. Sunny's story is beautiful and I felt a lot of sympathy for her. Sunny spends a lot of this book feeling confused about who she is, who she loves, and what kind of a person she is allowed to be. Her adoptive mother shelters her because of her transplant, but even in that situation, there's clearly more to it.

The writing in this book is stunning and Sunny's voice is one that will definitely capture readers. I spent my last morning in Montreal tearing up simply because there is such a huge emotional punch throughout the story, and it doesn't stop. I love when a book gives me so many emotions from start to finish, and there were parts of this book where I felt my heart beat faster and faster. This smart middle grade book will teach so many people about empathy and what it means to get a second lease on life, even at a young age.

I cried during The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James and I am not afraid to admit that. What I hope is that more people open their minds to more queer middle grade. Stories should transform our lives, and I think this book offers a transformation that readers will never forget.

Age

Add Age Suitability
e
EllieJoy
Aug 05, 2019

EllieJoy thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

b
brown_rat_31
Jul 29, 2019

brown_rat_31 thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top