Good Omens

Good Omens

The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch

Large Print - 2006
Average Rating:
Rate this:
67
8
2
 …
The world is going to end next Saturday, but there are a few problems--the Antichrist has been misplaced, the Four Horseman of the Apocalypse ride motorcycles, and the representatives from heaven and hell decide that they like the human race.
Publisher: New York, NY : HarperLuxe, [2006]
Edition: Large print edition.
Copyright Date: ©2006
ISBN: 9780062934918
0062934910
Branch Call Number: LPF GAIMAN, NEIL
Characteristics: 582 pages (large print) ; 23 cm
large print,16 point,rdafs
Additional Contributors: Pratchett, Terry - Author

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
Hillsboro_RobP Jun 21, 2020

A funny and memorable tour with an unlikely set of quirky characters. Pratchett and Gaiman's collaboration is every bit the joy ride you'd predict from the minds of these authors.

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
May 05, 2020

According to Agnes Nutter, the only reliable guide to the future, the world will be ending next Saturday, just after tea. This doesn’t sit well with a certain demon and fussy angel, who both quite like living on earth. It also just so happens that the Antichrist is missing. The humour that ripples throughout this work is unparalleled. Dry, satirical, and wickedly funny, Pratchett and Gaiman create some of the weirdest characters and circumstances ever imagined in fiction. The plot meanders quite a bit, especially when reading in eBook format, but the circumstances that happen along the way are compelling enough to keep the reader occupied throughout the novel. It’s these details that make Good Omens an enjoyable read, as opposed to the overall, somewhat predictable, plot. Recommended for fans of the authors other works and the Thursday Next Series by Jasper Fford. 4/5 stars
@viedelabibliothèque of the Hamilton Public Library Teen Review Board

b
BlueHippo
Mar 19, 2020

I saw the series which was based on this book. Both are really wonderful. The book and the series are very much the same - the book has some things the the series did not and the series had some things that the book did not, so I recommend them both!

e
elyse0513
Jan 17, 2020

Trelawney

a
Anita_Dickey
Jan 06, 2020

i read this book as part of 300 books everyone should read once list challenge featured on Listopia. I had started watching the netflix series and didn't think much of it. I was very pleasantly surprised to discover that the tv series was a book and i had the book. I enjoyed it so much more than i thought i would. it's not my typical style of reading, but it is a good book. I think i want to finish the netflix series now. also used this for a prompt in the Around the world in 52 books challenge- read a book about witches

j
jenniharb
Dec 21, 2019

Truly loved it. Funny, sharp, and very wholesome too. Each character can be a beloved character abd its amazing how human they're all written to be.

p
patcarstensen
Dec 13, 2019

Read the book even if you have seen the TV series -- video doesn't have the footnotes.

d
DazzlingMoonlight
Oct 18, 2019

This brilliant pairing of two amazing authors brings the best of both to this apocalyptic tale. You will laugh out loud one minute then roll your eyes at the absurd situations the ingenious characters find themselves in. If you love intelligent British humour, this is the book for you. A fantastic read that is even better as an audiobook.

a
amanoletters99
Oct 17, 2019

I am probably the only person in the world who didn't care for this book. On their own, I like both authors, but this story just seemed be missing something. Can't quite put my finger on it. Maybe the television adaptation will help??

n
N13m4nd
Sep 28, 2019

People keep telling me how great Terry Pratchett is. People keep telling me how great Neil Gaiman is. And okay, they might be right, because this book is delightful. The end of the world is at hand and the armies of Good and Evil are called to fight the final war. Except neither side really wants to go. Sure, the higher ups on both sides are all for it, but the boots on the ground have been on earth for a while and kind of like it here, and find they have more in common with each other than they do with their bosses. Meanwhile, someone has misplaced the Anti-Christ and things can’t really get started without him. So demon Crowley and angel Aziraphale have both been ordered to straighten the mess out and get on with the mayhem, but instead they team up to follow the letter of their orders while trying to wriggle out of the intent of their orders. The book is a very gentle kind of comedy with charming characters that will leave you in a good mood.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability
k
khorosho23
Jan 15, 2020

khorosho23 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

s
Sunny0419
Jan 07, 2020

Sunny0419 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 1 and 1

m
mhellwig
Mar 22, 2019

mhellwig thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

b
bsmith2022
Feb 25, 2019

bsmith2022 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

v
VV12
Sep 08, 2015

VV12 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

vv1 Mar 12, 2015

vv1 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

n
nopenope
Dec 24, 2014

nopenope thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

BECCA MICHELLE PINKSTON thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary
m
mhellwig
Mar 22, 2019

An angel and a demon try to stop the apocalypse since they enjoy life on earth too much to destroy it in a war.
This book is a fantastic read for those who enjoy British humor with a side of the occult. Both fans of Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett will find something to love about the story.

d
daviesg6
Jun 13, 2013

well written, very funny, the authors show that they can work together and produce a work of genius. one of the funniest books i have ever read.

Quotes

Add a Quote
m
mhellwig
Mar 22, 2019

"The Power Cable (Nebraska) Evangelical Choir launched into "Jesus Is the Telephone Repairman on the Switchboard of My Life," and almost drowned out the sound of the rising wind."
Page 247

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top