The Story Prize

The Story Prize

15 Years of Great Short Fiction

Book - 2019
Rate this:
This anthology of short stories marks the fifteenth anniversary of The Story Prize and includes one story from each of the annual winning collections, beginning with Edwidge Danticat's The Dew Breaker and concluding with Elizabeth Strout's Anything Is Possible.The founder of The Story Prize, Julie Lindsey, and its director, Larry Dark, created this award to address the lack of one specifically for collections of stories. Together they choose three finalists from the previous year's publications, which are sent to three judges--an author, a bookseller or librarian, and a critic or editor--who, independently of one another, relay their choices. The prize is then presented at an annual celebration in New York, where the finalists read from their books and then discuss their work with Dark. Excerpts from these interviews--or, in a few cases, the judges' citations--introduce each story in the book. The authors chose the stories included to read at the annual Story Prize event.
Publisher: New York : Catapult, 2019.
Copyright Date: ©2019
ISBN: 9781936787630
Branch Call Number: FIC STORY
808.3 STORY
Characteristics: xii, 383 pages ; 21 cm
Additional Contributors: Dark, Larry - Editor


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at SMPL

To Top