Select language, opens an overlay
To Night Owl From Dogfish

To Night Owl From Dogfish

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
10
3
1
Unhappy about being sent to the same summer camp after their fathers start dating, Bett and Avery, two girls, age eleven, eventually begin scheming to get the couple back together after a break-up. Told entirely through letters, emails and text messages.
Publisher: New York, NY : Dial Books for Young Readers & Dutton Children's Books, [2019]
ISBN: 9780525553236
0525553231
9780525553250
Branch Call Number: XF SLOAN, HOLLY
Characteristics: 295 pages ; 22 cm
Additional Contributors: Wolitzer, Meg - Author

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
p
pink_hamster_797
Mar 26, 2021

I couldn’t put the book down!!!
It truly teaches us of equality for all races and gay and lesbian couples. We are lucky enough to have those people in our lives or just existing. In conclusion, don’t judge people by their color or their marriage.

Signing out,
To night owl from dogfish

jcljessicaj Mar 04, 2021

I just loved this book! From the very beginning I was fully behind the mission of Bett and Avery no matter what they were trying to accomplish. Their characters were so well written that I couldn't not like them. And the fact that the whole book was written in emails and letters was sort of mind blowing because I didn't feel like I missed out on anything. The storytelling was incredible. I think this is a great read for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Shannon Hale.

A super sweet and funny little epistolary novel full of SCHEMING and ADVENTURE -- a reminder that true friendships are sometimes ridiculously difficult, but worth it.

t
Trixie_reads
Aug 19, 2020

Adorable and fun

k
kathleen_DCL
Oct 08, 2019

This book is so cleverly written! I really looked forward to reading more about what Bett and Avery were up to - loved it!

s
snowchaeeun
Aug 24, 2019

When I first saw this book on the book cart I was like well the cover looks nice. So I read the back of the book and I thought to myself would I like this book and I loved it.

k
katroh
Jul 25, 2019

When I heard this book was basically a series of emails between two kids, I wasn't sure what to expect. It worked really well! It was a good story.

m
mjwiggins
May 29, 2019

An extremely charming contemporary epistolary twist on "The Parent Trap," with hilarious, believable kid-voices and a great message about found families.

s
snailgem
May 04, 2019

LOVED IT! So ... addictive, I had trouble putting it down, and couldn't wait to get back to it. I didn't think I would even get thru it, because of the "epistolary" format, which I don't normally like, but WRONG. It was so engrossing, it pulled me in almost immediately, and kept me enthralled to the end. And the overall message about family,... well, the authors say it so much better than I could ever hope to say it.

Tigard_HollyCP Mar 02, 2019

Sweet book about two girls who live across the country from each other thrown together through no choice or desire of their own, because their dads may be getting married. But when their dads decide they aren't right for each other, the girls just can't accept that. They go to great lengths to try to bring them back together with unexpected and unintended results. The one weakness in my opinion was the entire premise on which the book (including even the title) is built: the letter format used. In my opinion, the authors tried a little too hard to make the story work within the epistolary format. I think the story would have been stronger if they had just told it straight out rather than trying to fit the story-telling into the confines of letters and emails.

Quotes

Add a Quote

...One of us is wise like an owl + stays up late observing things. And the other one is fierce like a shark + is always on the move. Maybe it seems like we have nothing in common, but that isn't true. Together, we cover land + sky + sea. Together, we are a team.

...families are made from people who want to be together more than they want to be apart

What animates my soul is having a friend like you.

Summary

Add a Summary
cmlibrary_jcurrie Jun 09, 2020

Bett Devlin lives in California with her dad, it is just the two of them and they have lots of fun together. One day while snooping through her father’s emails, Bett discovers that he is planning a trip to China with his boyfriend. She also finds out that while her dad is gone, she will be sent to the same camp as his boyfriend’s daughter. The two dads want the girls to spend time together and bond. Bett is so angry that she finds the other daughter online, her name is Avery, and tells her that they must stop their dads from dating each other. The girls are determined that they will not be friends and will not speak with each other at camp. At camp, they eventually come together and decide that being sisters won’t be so bad. Then they learn the bad news that their fathers had a fight and decided to break up. Now the girls spend their time scheming to get their fathers back together.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top