The Kiss Quotient

The Kiss Quotient

eBook - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
28
2
"A heartwarming and refreshing debut novel that proves one thing: there's not enough data in the world to predict what will make your heart tick. Stella Lane thinks math is the only thing that unites the universe. She comes up with algorithms to predict customer purchases--a job that has given her more money than she knows what to do with, and way less experience in the dating department than the average thirty-year-old. It doesn't help that Stella has Asperger's and French kissing reminds her of a shark getting its teeth cleaned by pilot fish. Her conclusion: she needs lots of practice--with a professional. Which is why she hires escort Michael Phan. The Vietnamese and Swedish stunner can't afford to turn down Stella's offer, and agrees to help her check off all the boxes on her lesson plan--from foreplay to more-than-missionary position... Before long, Stella not only learns to appreciate his kisses, but crave all of the other things he's making her feel. Their no-nonsense partnership starts making a strange kind of sense. And the pattern that emerges will convince Stella that love is the best kind of logic.."--
"Stella Lane comes up with algorithms to predict customer purchases--a job that has given her more money than she knows what to do with, and way less experience in the dating department than the average thirty-year-old. It doesn't help that Stella has Asperger's and French kissing reminds her of a shark getting its teeth cleaned by pilot fish. Her conclusion: she needs lots of practice--with a professional--which is why she hires escort Michael Phan. With the looks of a K-drama star and the martial arts moves to match, the Vietnamese-Swedish stunner can't afford to turn down Stella's offer. And when she comes up with a lesson plan, he proves willing to help her check off all the boxes--from foreplay to more-than-missionary position. Before long, Stella not only learns to appreciate his kisses, but to crave all of the other things he's making her feel. Their no-nonsense partnership starts making a strange kind of sense. And the pattern that emerges will convince Stella that love is the best kind of logic.."--
Publisher: New York : JOVE / Berkley, 2018.
ISBN: 9780451490810
0451490819
9780451490803
0451490800
Branch Call Number: eBook OverDrive
Characteristics: 1 online resource.
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
w
WoodneathKristie
May 20, 2019

I fell in love a little with both romantic leads, Stella and Michael, in The Kiss Quotient. They love K-Dramas, I love K-Dramas. They love martial arts movies, I love martial arts movies. They love consensual encounters based on mutual trust and fulfillment, I love consensual encounters based on mutual trust and fulfillment. This is the exact kind of story that should define the contemporary romance genre- plenty sexy and sweet, but consciously devoid of the trappings of rape culture and stale stereotypes. If you are looking for a fun "reverse Pretty Woman" romance story with a great #ownvoices twist, The Kiss Quotient is sure to be a welcome addition to your reading list.

r
ryner
May 03, 2019

A sweet, semi-autobiographical romance about Stella, a young woman who, after coming to the realization based on past awkward experiences that she "isn't good at" sex, hires a male escort to provide instruction and pointers. Though I love a good love story, I usually shy away from the romance genre because the obligatory conflicts are often painfully contrived, but I have to say this was pretty well done! Recommended.

j
JANMAYS
Apr 20, 2019

Good story about a girl with aspergers who hired a guy to teach her to kiss and make love. Maybe not for B/C but a good read.

c
Cheebie
Apr 05, 2019

This is NOT appropriate for teens, it is soft-core porn. The story would be a fun love story without all of the sex scenes. It is not needed. Explicit details of sex throughout. KCLS please remove this from the TEEN section.

VaughanPLKim Feb 15, 2019

In this steamy romance, Stella, a woman on the autism spectrum, enlists the services of male escort Michael to help her become comfortable with sex. Michael respects Stella's boundaries and in turn she doesn't judge him for his profession. What starts as a business transaction quickly becomes something more.

r
RosaReads2
Feb 10, 2019

I was worried about the hype. It raises expectations and I find it hard for any book to meet them. One thing I can say, it was a solid and well-written romance with wonderfully diverse characters. I didn’t find it entirely unique due to a couple of cliched secondary characters and some redundant character self-recriminations, but that didn’t stop me from enjoying nearly everything about the story. I don’t usually enjoy escort heroes and I had to force myself to look past his very part-time profession since he was the absolute best kind of hero in regards to his time with Stella. I mean heart-stopping and swoon-inducing type of hero! I also loved the authenticity of Stella’s character and the fact that she was the driving force of the novel. Besides my menial criticisms, The Kiss Quotient was a stellar debut by an author that I look forward to reading more from.

JCLStefanieE Jan 23, 2019

When neurotic number cruncher (who happens to have asperger's syndrome) hires an escort to 'practice' the art of love things get pretty steamy. I fell in love with these well-drawn characters as they fell for each other. Definitely a clever piece of candy literature and sure to put a smile on the face of romance readers.

VaughanPLDaniela Jan 03, 2019

The perfect book to heat things up on cold winter nights! I found myself immersed in Hoang's debut novel about Stella, a young professional with Asperger's, who is determined to unlock the secrets of love and romantic relationships. Enter Michael, a sexy Vietnamese and Swedish escort who Stella hires for a steamy night of sex-ed. But what begins as a hook-up soon turns into more, as Stella finds herself obsessing over Michael and Michael begins falling for the quirky, intelligent Stella. Fans of "Pretty Woman" and "The Rosie Project" will enjoy this unconventional and passionate romance.

DCLadults Jan 02, 2019

A New & Noteworthy Best of 2018 Pick. Stella is a whiz at numbers, but her Asperger’s makes it difficult to form any relationships. Being practical, she decides to hire a hot male escort for some practice. A debut romance novel that’s smart, sweet and steamy all at once.

m
mckeett
Dec 19, 2018

Absolute drivel. Minimal character development. The male fantasy of finding a woman who hates sex, then showing her how wonderful it is. Described in explicit detail. Again and again throughout the book. Pornography.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
m
mckeett
Mar 04, 2019

He spread her thighs wide and took in the sight of her beautiful *****. Wet, swollen folds flushed deep pink and blossomed wide open for him. p.198

ArapahoeMaryA Oct 19, 2018

All the things that make you different make you perfect.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top