The Man and His Music

Book - 2009
Rate this:
In this distinctive new work on Tchaikovsky, David Brown uniquely combines a lively biography of Russia's best-loved composer with a chronological guide to his music, ranging from the popular symphonies, concertos, operas and ballets like Swan Lake and The Nutcracker, to some lesser-known pieces. Brown skillfully guides the reader through Tchaikovsky's music within the context of his life, and the result is an edifying journey through some of the greatest and most moving music ever composed.As for Tchaikovsky himself, he emerges as a man dogged with bouts of depression but capable of great kindness, devoted to his family, unstinting with his time and money, even on behalf of virtual strangers. It is no wonder that when he died, he was given a state funeral, nor that the massive crowds lining the streets delayed the procession to the cemetery by five hours.
Publisher: New York : Pegasus Books, 2009.
Edition: 1st Pegasus books ed.
ISBN: 9781605980171
Branch Call Number: 780.92 TCHAIKOVSKY
Characteristics: xix, 460 pages, [8] pages of plates : illustrations ; 24 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at SMPL

To Top