Die Young With Me

Die Young With Me

A Memoir

Book - 2016
Rate this:
In the tradition of John Green's The Fault in Our Stars and Me and Earl and the Dying Girl , this incredibly moving and harrowing true story of a teenager diagnosed with cancer is "a resounding affirmation of how music can lift one's spirits beyond gray skies and bad news ( Kirkus Reviews )."

Punk's not dead in rural West Virginia. In fact, it blares constantly from the basement of Rob and Nat Rufus--identical twin brothers with spiked hair, black leather jackets, and the most kick-ass record collection in Appalachia. To them, school (and pretty much everything else) sucks. But what can you expect when you're the only punks in town?

When the brothers start their own band, their lives begin to change: they meet friends, they attract girls, and they finally get invited to join a national tour and get out of their rat box little town.

But their plans are cut short when Rob is diagnosed with a rare form of cancer that has already progressed to Stage Four. Not only are his dreams of punk rock stardom completely shredded, there is a very real threat that this is one battle that can't be won.

While Rob suffers through nightmarish treatments and debilitating surgery, Nat continues on their band's road to success alone. But as Rob's life diverges from his brother's, he learns to find strength within himself and through his music. Die Young with Me is a "raw, honest picture of the weirdness of growing up" (Marky Ramone) and the story of a brave teen's battle with cancer and the many ways music helped him cope through his recovery.
Publisher: New York : Touchstone, 2016.
Edition: First Touchstone hardcover edition.
ISBN: 9781501142628
1501142623
9781501142611
1501142615
Branch Call Number: 782.42092 RUFUS
Characteristics: 382 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top