Happiness Is A Serious Problem

Happiness Is A Serious Problem

A Human Nature Repair Manual

Book - 1999
Average Rating:
1
1
Rate this:

In this unique blend of self-help and moral philosophy, perfect for fans of Gretchen Rubin's The Happiness Project or Dan Harris' 10% Happier, talk-radio host Dennis Prager shows us that happiness isn't just a value--it's a moral obligation.

When you ask people about their most cherished values, "happiness" is always at the top of the list. In this enduring happiness manifesto, Prager examines how happiness not only makes us better people, but has an effect on the lives of everyone around us--providing them with a positive environment in which to thrive and be happy themselves.

Achieving that happiness won't be easy, though: to Prager, it requires a continuing process of counting your blessings and giving up any expectations that life is supposed to be wonderful. "Can we decide to be satisfied with what we have?" he asks. "A poor man who can make himself satisfied with his portion will be happier than a wealthy man who does not allow himself to be satisfied." Prager echoes other political commentators in complaining that too many people today see themselves as victims; he submits that the only way to achieve your desires is to take responsibility for your life rather than blaming others.

If you're willing to put some thought into achieving a happier outlook, you will find plenty to mull over in Happiness Is a Serious Problem.

Publisher: New York : ReganBooks, 1999, ©1998.
Edition: 1st ReganBooksHarperPerennial ed.
ISBN: 9780060987350
0060987359
Branch Call Number: 158.1 PRAGER
Characteristics: xii, 179 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Summary

Add a Summary

s
SmallTowner
May 29, 2011

The gifted author asserts that we're actually obligated to be happy, because it makes us better people.

Quotes

Add a Quote

s
SmallTowner
May 29, 2011

"A poor man who can make himself satisfied with his portion will be happier than a wealthy man who does not allow himself to be satisfied."

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top