The Complete Stories

The Complete Stories

Book - 1996
Average Rating:
Rate this:

Winner of the National Book Award

The publication of this extraordinary volume firmly established Flannery O'Connor's monumental contribution to American fiction. There are thirty-one stories here in all, including twelve that do not appear in the only two story collections O'Connor put together in her short lifetime-- Everything That Rises Must Converge and A Good Man Is Hard to Find .

O'Connor published her first story, "The Geranium," in 1946, while she was working on her master's degree at the University of Iowa. Arranged chronologically, this collection shows that her last story, "Judgement Day"--sent to her publisher shortly before her death--is a brilliantly rewritten and transfigured version of "The Geranium." Taken together, these stories reveal a lively, penetrating talent that has given us some of the most powerful and disturbing fiction of the twentieth century.Also included is an introduction by O'Connor's longtime editor and friend, Robert Giroux.

Publisher: New York : Noonday Press, 1996, c1971.
ISBN: 9780374515362
Branch Call Number: 813.54
PS3565.C57 A6 1991 PZ4.O183
Characteristics: xvii, 555 p. ; 21 cm.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

May 01, 2015

I really could not get into these short stories. Perhaps I didn't give it enough time but the stories were long and dull and many seemed to come from the perspective of the white South. For anyone with a sensitivity to the N***** word many of the stories will be off putting and none seemed to have stood the test of time. She's definitely no Mark Twain in that regard.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number



Find it at SMPL

To Top