Away We Go

Away We Go

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
3
1
Rate this:
Youths infected with the fatal Peter Pan Virus are sent to Westing Academy where Noah Falls pins his affections on a boy who does not reciprocate, and soon tarnishes his other relationships and increases his feelings of self-loathing.
Publisher: New York, NY : Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2016]
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780062238559
0062238558
Branch Call Number: YAF OSTROVSKI, EMIL
Characteristics: 261 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

h
HeroThGreat
Jun 16, 2017

This book is super good for those days when it's raining and you have nothing to do! I promise you will want to finish this book in one sitting! Although it is dark, the main character's narration is captivatingly honest-and had me tearing up quite a bit!

Add to the fact that there are a lot of LGBT elements. And you know this book will be a great read.

Trigger warning for people sensitive to detailed descriptions of what it's like to feel depressed or suicidal

LPL_WilliamO Apr 30, 2016

This was one of those books I COULD NOT put down. On top of a society crippling disease and impending asteroid collision, the main character's disregard for his own health and his outlook on life make for a dark, depressing story; however, it's not without some sense of hope. Definitely one to remember. Fans of John Corey Whaley, Andrew Smith and A.S. King take note!

Chapel_Hill_StephenA Mar 27, 2016

Full disclosure: I was not fully prepared for this book when I read it. The Andrew Smith/John Corey Whaley/AS King comparisons made me think this would be dark but also darkly comedic and satirical. There are hints of those things but really this is just dark. Very very very dark. That said, Ostrovski's premise is huge and interesting and there are flashes of greatness and a truly original voice. I can't think of any other YA writer who has done something exactly like this. The nonchronological progression is interesting and effective (though not quite as interesting or effective as I'll Give You the Sun) and the overall boarding school dread thing works pretty well (though Never Let Me Go this is not.) The flyers and documents are a nice touch (but probably not as well done as Illuminae... okay, so there are elements to this book that we've seen before. Never quite like this, though!)

Okay, it sounds like I hated this book which is totally not correct! This isn't a bad read by any stretch of the imagination and the author manages some really cool and different things but it's just all a bit rough around the edges. The only thing thing that 100% did not work for me was the total lack of character development. Noah is basically a tiny gay Nietzsche wannabe and that's it and reading him talk about pointlessness and the eternal void and whatnot for 200+ gets a little tough! And I honestly kept forgetting the other characters names which tells you how emotionally connected to them I was.

But again, I did not hate this as much as it sounds like I did! I think it could be a really interesting jumping off point for discussions on a lot of topics and it's certainly a book you'll think about for a while. I just wish I had known what I was in for before I had started. You may love this! You may want to chuck it into a ravine when you're done with it! (Please don't do this with a library copy.) But you will definitely have a reaction and you will definitely remember this book.

Age

Add Age Suitability

h
HeroThGreat
Jun 16, 2017

HeroThGreat thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top