Violation

Violation

Collected Essays

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
"Sallie Tisdale is the author of seven books on such varied subjects as medical technology, her pioneer ancestors and Buddhist women teachers. Her many essays have appeared in Harper's, Conjunctions, The New Yorker, Antioch Review, Threepenny Review and many other journals. This first collection of work spans thirty years, and includes an introduction and brief epilogues to each essay. Tisdale's questing curiosity pursues subjects from the biology of flies to the experience of working in an abortion clinic, why it is so difficult to play sports with men, and whether it's possible for writers to tell the truth. She restlessly returns to themes of the body, the family, and how we try to explain ourselves to each other. She is unwilling to settle for easy answers, and finds the ambiguity and wonder underneath ordinary events. The collection includes a recent essay never before published, about the mystery of how we present ourselves to each other and whether it is possible to know even our own inner lives"--
Publisher: Portland, Oregon : Hawthorne Books, [2016]
Copyright Date: ©2015
ISBN: 9780990437086
0990437086
Branch Call Number: 814 TISDALE
Characteristics: xiii, 358 pages ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

p
ParnassusReads
Jun 22, 2016

A NW native, this book collects essays that span Tisdale's entire career, with a short consideration of each essay at the end that offers an interesting look at how a writer's perspective on their own work changes over time. Reccommended for fans of Maggie Nelson, Meghan Daum, or Leslie Jamison.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top