Extraordinary Means

Extraordinary Means

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
7
3
1
Rate this:
Up until his diagnosis, Lane lived a fairly predictable life. Now he is at a tuberculosis sanatorium called Latham House, where he discovers an insular world with paradoxical rules, med sensors, and an eccentric yet utterly compelling confidante named Sadie-- and life as Lane knows it will never be the same. As Lane and Sadie fall in love-- and as their groups begins to fall sicker-- their world threatens to come crashing down.
Two teenagers with a deadly disease fall in love on the brink of a cure.
Publisher: New York, NY : Katherine Tegen Books, An Imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2015]
Edition: First Edition.
Copyright Date: ©2015
ISBN: 9780062392558
0062392557
9780062217165
006221716X
Branch Call Number: YAF SCHNEIDER, ROBYN
Characteristics: 324 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
madeline_george22
Aug 09, 2017

Very good. I liked how the ending was realistic, instead of just plain lucky.

i
indigo_panda_209
May 04, 2017

Oh my God. This is probably one of the best books I've read in quite a while. I'm going to make this as short as possible. The storyline is about two teens who helplessly fall in love at a prep school for teens with tuberculosis. Lane, the new kid, falls for Sadie, a reckless and adventurous girl. He learns new things, makes new friends, and lives a rebellious life at the school. I loved all the characters in this book, and the way they're a bunch of cool edgy teens. Lane and Sadie's love in quite cute and the writing had me hooked. I would definitely recommend it!

Jayna_DCL Aug 23, 2016

Told from the alternating perspectives of Sadie and Lane, two high school students at a sanatorium for TB, Extraordinary Means is the story of trying to have a normal teenage experience at a place that is anything but normal. Perfect for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell, this book is both funny and sad, but overall a beautiful story of friendship and romance.

j
Jen24
Jul 11, 2016

I loved this book! I loved the story line and fell in love with the relationships. It was heartbreaking at times, but a book that is a must read.

s
SashaE
May 21, 2016

YAY! This is such a good book, I like the two narrative characters, How she (The author) Included two peoples point of views in this tuberculosis facility, A boy who is aiming to get a good job and a good life, Studying, 24/7,
And a rebellious girl, who is a troublemaker, Sneaking out to the outside world. And then they cross paths,
Then Lane starts to see life from a different point of view and starts to accept that his life is going to change, and starts to loosen up and try out new things, And Sadie, who meets Lane, She starts to become tamer and less wild. And it ends up with a unforgettable story!

l
livieb17
Apr 03, 2016

What can I even say to say what this book did to me. This was a really fast read and I really wish it could've been longer. I did feel like the ending was rushed, but if it took any longer, I probably would not have been able to escape from the tears. Yeah. It was one of those books. I know that some people are saying that this book is unoriginal and that the story has been told before. And that is 100% true. People say this book is TFIOS mixed with Eleanor & Park which is completely understandable. I tried really hard not to compare it to The Fault In Our Stars by John Green, but in the end I couldn't do it. It was very similar in plot but I felt that the characters were very different which I appreciated. The main reason why I picked up this book is because I saw the book trailer on YouTube. It had me sucked in but also scared to read it because I was already predicting the ending. I knew that I was going to like this book as soon as I picked it up but at the same time, I was surprised because usually I don't really like this genre. But the characters in Extraordinary Means stole my heart right from the beginning. Each of the characters had a completely different personality which made everything so much more interesting. Sadie was wild and the Do-what-I-want-cuz-I-don't-care kind of person. Nick was goofy and so much fun to read about, although the fact that he had a crush on Sadie got a bit annoying sometimes. Charlie was quiet and sick and sad and sick. (I did mean to write that twice). Marina was a character that was good but didn't really add much to the story. She was part of the friend group but she didn't seem very tight with any of them so sometimes I forgot about her and I honestly don't really care about her. And Lane. Oh Lane. I love him so much. Lane was so dedicated to everything (specifically school which was kind of frustrating at times). But he was also dedicated to Sadie and getting better from Tuberculosis. I think that Lane got the most character development in this story. I was so proud of him when he finally realized that he hadn't been living his life properly. And he started to live his life for real. And even though he was stuck at Latham he learned that having fun was okay. I cried for Lane at the end. Because of everything that happened and because I'm going to miss him like crazy. Anyways. Moving on...
One thing (and only thing) that I didn't like was that I had been predicting one of them to die from the beginning of the book and I was right. And I cried because they died and because I had predicted it. But I knew that I would be crying before I went into this book. It is about Lane and Sadie who have tuberculosis which (in this book) is incurable. So yeah. I was ready to be sad.
Robyn Schneider has a way with words that makes this book so amazing. The first page was awesome and had me hooked, but on the second page I was drawn in on a different level and that was because of the writing. It was so beautiful and I could picture everything that was happening.

LPL_KimberlyL Oct 28, 2015

I can certainly see why this has been described as "The Fault in Our Stars" meets "Eleanor & Park", as I was reminded of both of those books while reading "Extraordinary Means." While sometimes cheesy and a tad too melodramatic at times, Schneider opens up discussion on the discrimination against those with life-threatening illnesses or disease. Beyond that, this is a quirky and lovable story of friendship and young love that will pull at your heartstrings. I definitely enjoyed reading this book, and would recommend it for those who loved the spark between Hazel and Augustus, as well as Eleanor and Park.

Age

Add Age Suitability

m
madeline_george22
Aug 09, 2017

madeline_george22 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

i
indigo_panda_209
May 04, 2017

indigo_panda_209 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 12 and 20

indigo_nightingale_101 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 9 and 20

Summary

Add a Summary

a
a_barrettxx
Jul 06, 2015

When Lane is diagnosed with tuberculosis and sent to live at Latham house a sanitarium his world is turned upside down. Suddenly he has to deal with weekly check ups, strict rules, and nutritionists instead of SATs and college prep. Then he meets Sadie and her group of misfit friends and nothing is ever the same.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top