Death of A Bride and Groom

Death of A Bride and Groom

A Honeymoon Falls Mystery

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
"When the body of writer Iris Morland is discovered in full bridal array atop a giant wedding cake parade float, the little resort town of Honeymoon Falls is left reeling. Suspects include Iris's husband, Kenneth, enraged after discovering her liaison with television host Arnold Reifel. Arnold's wife, Margery, was seething because Iris had turned Margery's interior decoration schemes into a very public humiliation. Then there's haughty French film auteur, Pierre Blondin, in town filming Iris's novel. Did Iris trigger his murderous wrath by opposing a nude scene featuring ninety-five-year-old actress Hermione Hopkins? Captain Will Halsey, head of Honeymoon Falls' three-person police force, struggles to find the killer while coping with small-town politics, feuding among his subordinates, and the ferocious attentions of the media"--
Publisher: Waterville, Maine : Five Star, 2015.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9781432830694
1432830694
Branch Call Number: MF EMERSON, ALLAN
Characteristics: 267 pages ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

a
Allan1946
Oct 01, 2015

Review from Kings River Lite:

The closure of Winslow’s shingle mill would have doomed the tiny Canadian town—were it not for the ingenious inspiration to rebrand itself as Honeymoon Falls. The self-declared “Romantic Capital of the World” hosts a series of themed events that begins with Parade Day and over-the-top floats. When one of these makes an ill-advised detour onto the freeway, damaged semis and a rear-ended police car are the least of the problems: strapped to the float like morbid cake toppers are the bodies of Iris Morland and Connor Tarlech, posed ironically in wedding attire.
The list of those who didn’t have reasons for wanting the couple dead is shorter than the suspect list: Iris Morland was much despised for her affairs with other women’s husbands, while Connor’s bankruptcy was the reason for the mill’s closure.

The end of his own marriage was the reason police chief William Halsey retreated from Vancouver to the town of his youth—though attempting to mediate between his two battling deputies is probably not giving him the peace he’d imagined. Neither is this new murder investigation that has him questioning powerful and wealthy residents, dodging headline-hungry news reporters, and corralling two rookie officers who lack experience—but not attitude. Alternating chapters reveal the viewpoints of various characters, and it is through these all-too-brief moments that readers can glimpse their complicated and fascinating personalities.
Although the concept of a series based in a town devoted to weddings would seem to relegate it to cozy status, this feels far more like a small-town police procedural. Fans of Craig Johnson and Bill Crider will find themselves at home with this debut series that has the police chief attempting to guide his own staff while navigating the politics of an affluent, tourist-driven town. As Halsey confronts both wealthy visitors and working-class residents, he learns one thing; they are all liars. This is an immensely fun novel inundated with witty dialogue, and by its conclusion readers will be ready to book their next visit to Honeymoon Falls.

Cynthia Chow, Kings River Lite

v
VPLTSV
Sep 03, 2015

Review from Cozy Mystery Book Reviews: When the body of writer Iris Morland is discovered in full bridal array atop a giant wedding cake parade float, the little resort town of Honeymoon Falls is left reeling. Not only is its reputation as "the Romance Capital of the World" at risk, its very survival is threatened. Murder, it seems, has a chilling effect on those considering venues for potential nuptials.

Iris enjoyed betrayal, which makes half the people in town potential suspects. Among them is her husband, Kenneth, enraged after discovering her liaison with television host Arnold Reifel. Arnold's wife, Marjorie, was seething because Iris had turned Marjorie's interior decoration schemes into a very public humiliation. Then there's haughty French film auteur, Pierre Blondin, in town filming Iris's novel. Did Iris trigger his murderous wrath by opposing a nude scene featuring ninety-five-year-old actress Hermione Hopkins?

Captain Will Halsey, head of Honeymoon Falls' three-person police force, must find the killer among Iris's host of enemies. And he'll have to do it while coping with small-town politics, feuding among his subordinates, and the ferocious attentions of the media.[via Amazon]

I love small towns. They are one of the reasons I come back to cozy mysteries more than any other kind of mysteries. The picturesque small town, where all the murder and mayhem happens always intrigues me. This was part of the reason that I adored Death of a Bride and Groom so much. It is set in Honeymoon Falls', a small town with the reputation of being the "Romantic Capital of the World". What could possibly happen here? Well the murder of Iris Morland to start with, and a lot of mayhem to follow!

From the first chapter, Allan J. Emerson captured my attention and didn't let go until I turned the last page. I loved all the host of characters that are suspects, so many of them colorful and interesting, and I had a hard time trying to pick out who the murderer was!

If you're looking for a fresh new series to enjoy over the summer, I wouldn't hesitate in recommending a new voice in Canadian mysteries. Allan J. Emerson will wow readers with this fast-paced cozy mystery, with characters so memorable that you'll be looking forward to another return to Honeymoon Falls.

Review by Anna M.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top