On Basilisk Station

On Basilisk Station

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
6
Rate this:
A signed, limited leather-bound edition of the first entry in the Honor Harrington series follows the exile of Honor Harrington to an antique police ship, where she plots to retaliate against a vindictive supervisor responsible for discrediting her. Instead of remaining out of sight during her assignment to a forlorn outpost, spaceship commander Honor Harrington, along with her vessel, the Fearless, performs incredible flying maneuvers to stop a foreign takeover of a major space station.
Publisher: Riverdale, NY : Baen ; New York : Distributed by Simon & Schuster, ©2013.
Edition: 20th anniversary special limited ed.
ISBN: 9781451638820
1451638825
Branch Call Number: SF WEBER, DAVID
Characteristics: 387 pages : illustrations (some color) ; 25 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

One of the best sci-fi reads. I highly recommend if you like Tanya Huff, or other military sci-fi writers. Weber blows those doors off with this intro to Honor Harrington.

d
dedmanshootn
Jun 30, 2015

the first book published in this great series and I'd still read it first even tho prequels have come out since

multcolib_central Jul 24, 2014

An overage light cruiser on a distant, backwater station...a new captain untried and entrusted by the crew...a long-standing enemy willing to risk all the seize power...
Whats going to happen?
Read this and find out.

JCLLouisaWS Apr 17, 2013

The first in David Weber’s marvelous Honor Harrington series, On Basilisk Station is a paean to competence. Royal Manticoran Navy Commander Honor Harrington has a gutted ship, a demoralized crew, and a posting in the deep boondocks of space under a man who hates her. Honor has been given an impossible task, but she is too strong-willed and dutybound to let a little thing like the impossible get in her way.

Recommended for fans of Patrick O’Brian’s Aubrey & Maturin books, strong heroines, and ragtag teams coming together.

r
RichardPaul
Apr 16, 2011

On Basilisk Station ----
by David Weber c - 1993 ----

I found this first book to be an average read. ----

Liking the story: it was just slow in the take off. Final five chapters or so were exciting and worth the wait. ----

Read the 12 book series and enjoy! ----

RichardPaul

Librarymans Sep 04, 2010

This is my favourite series of space warfare. The series has been described as Horatio Hornblower IN SPAAAAAACE, and this is not an inaccurate claim. The first 6 or so books focus on Honor Harrington's adventure and personal feats of daring do. After that the series becomes far more political and strategic.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top