The Great Gatsby

The Great Gatsby

Large Print - 2008
Average Rating:
Rate this:
159
27
19
 …
Publisher: Waterville, Me. : Wheeler Pub., 2008.
Edition: Large print ed.
ISBN: 9781597226769
1597226769
Branch Call Number: LPF FITZGERALD, F.
Characteristics: 257 p. (large print) ; 22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
z
zainabmaria
Nov 10, 2020

This novel is a classic, and it is a beautiful depiction of love, loss, and nostalgia. It contains a good amount of symbolism, and the usage of grandiose imagery makes it an enjoyable read. The characters are very complex, and almost all of their actions have multiple meanings to them.

a
alexqise
Oct 27, 2020

Nick Carraway moves to the east coast in order to work as a bond trader in Manhattan. There he meets his cousin Daisy Buchanan, her husband Tom, and their friend Jordan Baker. Nick also meets his next-door neighbor Jay Gatsby at one of the many parties he throws. Nick then starts dating Jordan and the story is taken up a notch when Jordan reveals that Gatsby once had a type of relationship with Daisy. I like this book because of the continuous plot twists and an overall intriguing story.

v
Vineguard
Sep 30, 2020

The Great Gatsby is a classic American literature book, and dare I say, one of the best. The novel is set during the Roaring 20’s in America; the narration is from Nick Carraway’s point of view, a man from a well-to-do family who had just finished fighting the war, and was looking to sell bonds. He moves to East Egg, the slightly less grand area filled with nouveau riche in comparison to West Egg, right opposite of Gatsby's mansion. Gatsby is mega-rich and throws magnificent parties every weekend which the whole town attends. However the host is never seen during these parties, and is never completely known by any one person. Gatsby holds a dark secret about his past and how he acquired his wealth, and the uncovering of his secrets builds up to his downfall.
The Great Gatsby is so much more than a love story. It’s a novel about infidelity, crime, and the American Dream/psyche. Gatsby is the epitome of all these themes combined, and the symbolism in this book easily connects with our modern society. Whether it’s Doctor Eckleburg’s eyes, or the green light across from Daisy’s house, many of the symbols hinted in this novel portray what many teens would consider to be in relation with their lives.
The five major themes of this book can be related to what we are experiencing today: Jay Gatsby embodies America itself and the essence of the American Dream, wealth defines American identity and ultimately leads to a loss of morality and gross income inequality, cheating has become the guidebook in American culture as a means to an end, teens today strive for their own idealized American Dream and Romantic Dream of success, and the pathology and behavior of Tom and other characters in Gatsby mirror the pathology of leaders in the Trump era. I encourage readers to look into these themes and to decide for themselves the true message that Fitzgerald wishes for readers to register in his novel.

pacl_teens Sep 11, 2020

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald is a classic novel. This novel is about a rich man, Jay Gatsby, and his love for a married woman, Daisy Buchanan as told from the POV of Daisy’s cousin and Gatsby’s close friend Nick Carraway. As Nick moves to New York for his new job he ends up living next door to the wealthy Jay Gatsby. Gatsby is a man of mystery and elegance every night he holds huge parties at his mansions to attract the woman he once loved, Daisy. When Nick goes to his house one night they become close friends and Gatsby sees this as his way to get close to Daisy. But how far is Gatsby willing to go and how many people will get hurt in the process?

This book is a classic and it is one that everyone should read at some point in their lives. First of all, I loved the amount of symbolism the author used throughout the story. By using this literary device he was able to get the story through to his readers by using another method besides using words to write it out. Second, I loved Gatsby in this book. He had a very persevering and friendly personality, he is exactly the type of person you would want to be friends with. I also liked how he was hopelessly in love with Daisy, this showed that even wealthy men can have a soft spot for love which is depicted well in the book. Next, I loved the friendship between Nick and Gatsby, there were times when it did not seem genuine but overall they had a nice and mutual friendship. Lastly, I think that the author ended the book beautifully. Even though there were some sad parts throughout the book he was able to tie everything together really well.

In short, this is an amazing read for someone who loves a quick and educational read. Even though most people will read this book during their high school career I think everyone should try to read this book willingly instead of forcefully because I think they will enjoy it. -Eunchae, Grade 10

l
leejuliet
Aug 31, 2020

The novel The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald is a tragic story about love coming with sacrifices. Starting off, Nick Carraway is a young man who moved to New York in the summer of 1922. He rented a house, neighboring Jay Gatsby. On the opposite side lived his cousin, Daisy Buchanan, and her husband, Tom. Daisy and Tom introduced a woman named Jordan Baker to Nick, and she decided to have an affair with him. Not long after this meeting, Jordan informed Nick about a secret lover that Tom had been meeting stealthily: Myrtle Wilson. After being told this secret, Mr. Carraway traveled with Tom and Myrtle on a trip back to New York City. As the summer progressed, Jordan and Nick attended a party that the mysterious Gatsby had invited the couple to. As the party was going, Gatsby asked to speak with Jordan privately. Suspicious, Nick inquired Jordan about what all this fuss was about. Jordan explained that Gatsby was madly in love with Daisy, and the parties he held were to bring attention to himself and impress her. Knowing all of this, Nick arranged a “tea party” with Daisy and Gatsby, where the two hooked up and started a relationship. After a short period of time, Tom grew suspicious of his wife’s relationship with Gatsby. At a meal gathering at the Buchanans’ house, Tom caught Gatsby staring at his own wife with awe and grew infuriated and told her lies about Gatsby. Daisy had believed Tom, yet continued to meet Gatsby. Following this event, a series of unfortunate misunderstandings and accidents happened, leading to a twisted ending.

The story ended in a way that may have dismayed many readers due to the absence of happiness, but overall this was a really well-written tragedy. The Great Gatsby evaluated how a misunderstanding could start a chain of misleading thoughts, ending with satisfaction for no one. Rather than taking the blame for someone you love and risking your life, protect them so that no one can hurt them. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and it is honestly probably one of my favorites. I recommend everyone who has free time to check out this book sometime. A wonderful classic that cannot get any better.

c
cwcyrus1
Aug 21, 2020

Set during the Prohibition Era in the 1920s, The Great Gatsby tells a tale of changes in society after the Great War. The novel reveals the disparities in quality of life and wealth, from the rich East Egg to West Egg and the poor Valley of Ashes. The narrator, Nick Carraway, meets his wealthy neighbor, Jay Gatsby, and reunites with his distant cousin Daisy and her even wealthier husband, Tom Buchanan. As the story progresses, a rivalry forms between Tom and Gatsby, as they fight for Daisy's affection. This rivalry and a disastrous mix-up lead to the tragic ending of the book.

This story emblematizes the culture and change of ideas that many experienced after the First World War. Modernist ideas were conveyed through F. Scott Fitzgerald's writing, and fit into the narrative of the story very well. The complicated and varied structure of this novel makes it a complex story that holds many references to the culture of the 1920s.

4.5/5 Stars
15 and Up

a
alecbussott
Aug 18, 2020

One of the great American novels. As relevant now as it was back in the 1920s.

The novel, “The Great Gatsby,” takes place during the summer of 1922. The novel is through the lens of Nick Carraway, who recently moved into a house in West Egg. Nick’s neighbor, Jay Gatsby, owns a mansion and throws a party every Saturday night. Gatsby is trying to rekindle his relationship with Nick’s cousin, Daisy Buchanan, who is married to a wealthy man, Tom Buchanan. This novel addresses global issues such as social class and gender inequality. The novel also portrays an “American Dream” based on Gatsby’s ambitions and the society that surrounds him. I enjoyed reading this novel because there was a lot of imagery and symbolism that stands out to the reader. Also, there were many conflicts and tragedies where it left me in shock. While reading the novel, I began to understand the differences between the characters and the differences between West and East Egg people. Overall, this was a great book to read and I would recommend it.

v
violet_owl_999
Aug 04, 2020

I knew of the great gatsby but I knew nothing about it. It wasn’t until this summer that decided to finally read it. Honestly it wasn’t what I expected. The plot is told through the perspective of nick caraway (I always thought that it was gatsby’s) and is about gatsby’s love to the married Daisy Buchanan. Taking place in the 1920s, it gives you a slice of what a some what normal life during that would have been like. And I say normal because that is what it is, nothing major happens throughout this book and because of this it is realistic. If your looking for a happy ending...there isn’t one and that is just how the story goes

g
green_penguin_484
Jul 25, 2020

*2020*

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability
a
alexqise
Oct 27, 2020

alexqise thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

v
Vineguard
Sep 28, 2020

Vineguard thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

c
cwcyrus1
Aug 21, 2020

cwcyrus1 thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

gonzalesgenevieve03 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

i
IshaanGupta30
Jul 24, 2020

IshaanGupta30 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

l
lkim17
May 08, 2020

lkim17 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

a
Alanreviews
Feb 17, 2017

Alanreviews thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

c
cfollowstheroad
Jun 09, 2016

cfollowstheroad thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

c
csrestall
Apr 21, 2016

csrestall thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

c
Charlie68
Sep 15, 2015

Charlie68 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

View All Ages

Quotes

Add a Quote
a_pitts Jul 05, 2017

"So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past."

e
emilyk5
Jun 13, 2016

"Gatsby believed in the green light, the orgastic future that year by year recedes before us. It eluded us then, but that's no matter - to-morrow we will run faster, stretch out our arms farther...And one fine morning -

So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past."

b
booksophie
Jun 05, 2016

“Can’t repeat the past?…Why of course you can!”

k
katedominique
Aug 29, 2015

“The loneliest moment in someone’s life is when they are watching their whole world fall apart, and all they can do is stare blankly.”

g
GinaGirl21
Jun 10, 2015

"You can still see that green light.."

Laura_X May 15, 2015

In his blue gardens men and girls came and went like moths among the whisperings and the champagne and the stars.

ilowelife Mar 28, 2014

Unlike Gatsby and Tom Buchanan, I had no girl whose disembodied face floated along the dark cornices and blinding signs, and so I drew up the girl beside me, tightening my arms. Her wan, scornful mouth smiled, and so I drew her up again closer, this time to my face.

nicolajruiz Feb 25, 2014

A breeze blew through the room, blew curtains in at one end and out the other like pale flags, twisting them up toward the frosted wedding-cake of the ceiling, and then rippled over the wine-colored rug, making a shadow on it as wind does on the sea.

2pod Feb 14, 2014

unjustly accused of being

ericnorcross Sep 22, 2013

Most of the big shore places are closed now, and there are hardly any lights except the shadowy moving glow of a ferry boat across the sound. As the moon rose higher the inessential houses began to melt away, until gradually I became aware of the old island here that flowered once for Dutch sailor's eyes. A fresh green breast of the new world. It's vanished trees, the trees that made way for Gatsby's house, had once pandered in whispers to the last and greatest of all human dreams and for a transitory enchanted moment man must have held his breath in the presence of this continent, compelled into an aesthetic contemplation he neither understood 'nor desired, face to face for the last time in history with something commensurate to his capacity for wonder.

View All Quotes

Summary

Add a Summary
s
Star_14
Jul 21, 2020

Nick Carraway, an academic businessman, has just arrived at his new house in Long Island in the West Egg district. He has moved East from Chicago in search of the tantalizing hum of the East coast that so many young people yearn for. Next-door resides the legendary Jay Gatsby in his lavish home. Gatsby is a man of high profile, holding large and boisterous parties and demonstrating his immense wealth derived from sources unknown. Just across the water, in the East Egg, is Nick's charming cousin Daisy and her harsh husband Tom Buchachan. It's common knowledge that Tom is having an affair with Myrtle, the unhappy wife of the lackluster George Wilson, the manager of a gas station between Long Island and New York City. As Nick becomes more and more acquainted with his neighbors and deeper and deeper into the frivolities the '20s were known for, he becomes more and more perplexed at Gatsby's character and success. When it is revealed that Gatsby fell desperately in love with Daisy five years ago and wants to be with her again, power becomes more valuable than loyalty.

c
csrestall
Apr 21, 2016

Nick the narrator lives next door to Jay Gatsby who is a rich man living in an elaborate house. Throwing many parties with many guests. He is infatuated with a woman named Daisy which motivates many of his decisions.

g
GinaGirl21
Jun 10, 2015

I man falls in love and after many years, the woman he loves has been married and has a daughter. Her cousin is a middle man in the relationship to help them sneak around behind the husbands back.

Nataliasay97 Jul 10, 2013

Nick lives next door to a mysterious man named Gatsby, who throws parties. Nick becomes friends with him and learns that he is in love with Daisy.

Tom is suspicious of this, and he tries to prove that Gatsby is not who he seems. Daisy says that she will leave Tom for Gatsby.
Daisy then refuses to leave Tom for him, and makes him drive her home. Daisy is at the wheel when the car hits someone- coincidentally, Myrtle Wilson, Tom's other woman.

Mr. Wilson discovers his wife's affair, and asks around about the car that hit her . So, thinking that Gatsby hit her, Mr. Wilson goes to Gatsby's house and shoots him, and then shoots himself.

Gatsby dies alone, because no one shows up to his funeral except for Nick and his father.

JODI ARONOFF Jun 25, 2012

The Great Gatsby , F. Scott Fitzgerald's third book, stands as the supreme achievement of his career. This exemplary novel of the Jazz Age has been acclaimed by generations of readers. The story of the fabulously wealthy Jay Gatsby and his love for the beautiful Daisy Buchanan, of lavish parties on Long Island at a time when The New York Times noted "gin was the national drink and sex the national obsession," it is an exquisitely crafted tale of America in the 1920s. The Great Gatsby is one of the great classics of twentieth-century literature.

Availability

tt14 Jun 18, 2012

This book was so fun and crazy at the same time. Got to check it out.

FavouriteFiction Sep 30, 2009

Poor officer Gatsby falls in love with flighty Daisy, but while he is away overseas she marries another man. He returns years later as a mysterious millionaire and tries to win her back.

m
mbazal
Nov 24, 2008

“The story of the fabulously wealthy Jay Gatsby and his love for the beautiful Daisy Buchanan, of lavish parties on Long Island at a time where gin was the national drink and sex the national obsession, it is an exquisitely crafted tale of America in the 1920s."

heatherlynn Mar 14, 2008

Main Characters:

Plot:

Notices

Add Notices
a
Alanreviews
Feb 17, 2017

Other: Alcohol and smoking. This happened in the 20s

a
Alanreviews
Feb 17, 2017

Sexual Content: Cheating, kissing, dating

a
Alanreviews
Feb 17, 2017

Coarse Language: Infrequent. No s word and f word. Just damn, hell, son of bitch

c
csrestall
Apr 21, 2016

Sexual Content: Sexual innuendos

c
csrestall
Apr 21, 2016

Violence: Car accidents, violence, murder

Nataliasay97 Jul 10, 2013

Other: uses some terms such as bootlegging

h
Hello_Seattle
Mar 04, 2013

Sexual Content: Obviously because this book is about the jazz age, there is some sexual content as well as some drinking.

s
Shamhatter
Jan 08, 2012

Other: irrevocable awesomeness.

m
mbazal
Nov 24, 2008

Sexual Content: This title contains Sexual Content.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top